Tree

When we were on our walk on Monday we came across this oak tree, and I just happened to have my camera with me for a change. It’s incredible that it is still alive with such a huge hole through the middle of it, but it seems to be flourishing.

I think I can incorporate this into my story somehow. I have begun reading back over it, to get my head around the story again. And do you know, it isn’t half bad. For those of you who don’t know, I had a mad writing fortnight about 18 months ago, following the principle of NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) and the book that accompanies it “No Plot, No Problem” except that I didn’t do it online through NaNoWriMo because I did it in February!! I managed to write 25,000 words of a children’s novel in that time, then got writer’s block, and made the fatal mistake of stopping. I haven’t written another word of it since. The two people I have allowed to read it have said it is really good and that i should finish it. Last week in the Saturday Times, there was a competition to submit a children’s novel by a first time writer, with a chance to be published by Chicken House. The deadline is November. Hmmmm, could I finish by then????

Leave a Reply

