Further adventures of Holmes and Watson

The Italian Secretary The Italian Secretary by Caleb Carr

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
I have only read one Conan Doyle Sherlock Holmes story before, The Hound of the Baskervilles. Spotting The Italian Secretary in a secondhand bookshop, I picked it up because it was written by Caleb Carr, and I didn’t really notice it was a Sherlock Holmes story until I got home.
Caleb Carr was a great choice to write a further adventure of Sherlock Holmes. His own novels The Alienist and The Angel of Darkness are about a Victorian detective too although this time in New York, and he certainly had the feel and atmosphere of the period.
I am now tempted to read more of the original stories, and also found a copy of The Lost World in a charity shop this morning.

View all my reviews >>

Leave a Reply

