Ghostwalk by Rebecca Stott.

Ghostwalk Ghostwalk by Rebecca Stott

My rating: 3 of 5 stars
A friend of mine recommended this book and loaned me her copy. I thought it looked like something I might enjoy but after about 60 or so pages I didn’t really like it. But I usually try to give a book until page 100 before I give up so I carried on. And I’m glad I did. The story took a bit of a supernatural turn and kept my interest from then on.

It is based on real facts about the life of Isaac Newton, and some of the scholars around him during his time at Trinity College Cambridge. A present day author is writing a biography of Newton and has uncovered possible sinister goings on. When she is found dead, her son asks his ex-lover and the dead woman’s friend to complete the book his mother was writing. She moves into the woman’s home and immerses herself in the task, while reigniting her affair with the son.

She begins to notice strange happenings in the house and is contacted by a clairvoyant who gives her more insight into what the older woman had been investigating.

The story is not completely resolved at the end of the book because no-one can prove or disprove the theory both women come up with but it does make you wonder. There is also a back story involving the son, who is a neuroscientist, and animal rights activists, and I’m sure there is some connection between the two stories but I’m not too sure what it was.

I am glad I stuck with this book but I wouldn’t say I really loved it so I’ll give it a 3 out of 5.

View all my reviews >>

One thought on “Ghostwalk by Rebecca Stott.

Leave a Reply

