Revisit a past FO

Revisit a past F/O

Bring the fortune and life of a past finished project up to the present. Document the current state and use of an object you have knitted or crocheted, whether it is the hat your sister wears to school almost every day, or a pair of socks you wore until they were full of holes. Or maybe that jumper that your dad just didn’t like that much.

I have many pairs of socks with holes in, waiting for repairs.  I don’t cut my toenails often enough so I poke through the socks.  I don’t know how to darn (although there was a Knitting Daily recently which I saved because it was about darning).

The FO I probably use the most though, apart from socks which I wear every day, is a cowl I made from this yarn which Becca bought me a couple of years ago in Hay-on-Wye while she was at the book festival.

Its a pure wool DK weight yarn and I knitted it up into a Vegas Sands neckwarmer.  I kept going until the yarn ran out so it is quite tall and ruffles up nicely when worn.  It fits under a coat and any high neck jumper so is perfect for the winter chills.  Sometimes I even keep it on indoors.

I made a Sheldon the Turtle when friends of ours have their first baby about 3 years ago, and gave it as a gift.  When their second child was born last autumn we popped up for a visit, and safe and sound in the cot, looking none the worse for wear was Sheldon!  I was so pleased he was still alive and well and obviously so well looked after.

5 thoughts on “Revisit a past FO

  1. The yarn for your cowl is gorgeous. I plan on making a Sheldon someday he has been in my Q forever along with a lot of other stuff lol.

Leave a Reply

