Yarn, tools and a surprise FO!!



Today is the last day of Knitting and Crochet Blog Week, and today’s topic is……

What a Yarn

There’s one love that we all share: yarn. Blog about a particular yarn you have used in the past or own in your stash, or perhaps one that you covet from afar. If it is a yarn you have used you could show the project that you used it for, perhaps writing a mini ‘review’. Perhaps, instead, you pine for the feel of the almost mythical qiviut? You could explore and research the raw material and manufacturing process if you were feeling investigative.

…………but I also wanted to write about the wildcard topic………..

All Tooled Up
Do you have a particular knitting/crochet tool or piece of equipment that you love to use? Maybe it is an old bent pair of needles that used to belong to someone special, or a gorgeous rosewood hand-turned crochet hook that you just love the feel of? Write about what you love it.

…..so I am going to combine the two.

I have used quite a few different yarns in the past 4 years or so.  Merino is lovely, and combined with bamboo or tencel it can be soft and squishy with a bit of added shine.  Vikki at Wild Fire Fibres does some lovely sock yarns and they are always a pleasure to knit with.  When I made my Central Park Hoodie earlier this year I used Cascade 220 for the first time.  This is extremely good value and despite the fact I have hardly taken the hoodie off since January, it is wearing very well.  But then we come to the mythical beast that is Wollemeise.  I have not had the pleasure of even getting to see or feel this yarn let alone knit with it.  It is so hard to get hold of, I wonder if I ever will.  I almost don’t want to in case my fantasy of it is crushed by the real thing.

My favourite knitting accessory has to be my row counters.  I didn’t go to the yarn shop and buy one of those overpriced plastic clicky things for about £8.

I went to ebay and got some of these  ……I think they are actually golf tally counters but they are brilliant for knitting row counters.  I have several now and they cost between £1 – £2 depending who you buy from and how many you buy at once.  They have a loop so you can hang them round your neck if you want to, but I usually use the loop to tie on a piece of the yarn I am using for the project, that way if I am using several at once I know which belongs to which project if they get mixed up.

Well I have to say that I have really enjoyed this week.  Being given a topic makes you think about it, and explore the issue.  On day 2 we had to choose an inspirational pattern and I chose the Endpaper Mitts.  And as you know if you have been following my posts, I cast on for them on Tuesday evening.  Well…………………last night I cast OFF!!!

Pattern: Endpaper Mitts by Eunny Jang – size small

Yarn: Knitwitches Sock Yarn (red) and Natural Dye Studio Dazzle (yellow).

Needles: 2.25mm circ, 2.75mm circ

Mods: did a normal longtail cast on and bind off in rib.

I am really chuffed with these.  I like the fact that the red is slightly variegated so the colour isn’t  too flat looking.  They fit really snugly and because of all the floats they are more or less double thickness so should be really warm.  I only used approximately 20-25g of each yarn for the pair so you could get at least 3 pairs from two 100g balls.  I now want to try different colour combinations of these, possibly using some long colour change yarns too.

Knitting goal: Learn stranded colourwork – TICK!  The trick is in how you hold the two yarns, I held both in the right hand, but you could hold one in each hand and knit one English and the other continental.



16 thoughts on “Yarn, tools and a surprise FO!!

  1. The Endpaper Mitts look great, I like the semi-solid-ish darker colourway against the pale, definitely adds more interest.

    I have one of those tally counters too, we got it in a bargain box from GrabItNow! Didn’t think to look for them on ebay, I am always running out of clicky counters … maybe it means I have too many WIPs ….

  2. Lovely knitware… I’m hoping my daughter and granddaughter continue to live in northern climes. NM doesn’t give me the chance to enjoy mittens.
    Thanks for your thoughts this week.

  3. The mitts are beautiful – I love the colors! I aspire to color work, and these mitts are at the top of my wish list! Thanks for the inspiration!

  4. Wow – I can’t believed you finished them already. Blog week has added a lot of new patterns to my queue – I’m so impressed that you’ve added a whole FO instead!

  5. Sweet Jebus, I must be a really slow knitter. I can’t even fathom getting those done in that short amount of time. Kudos!

  6. I love your endpaper mitts! I’m knitting my second pair atm… I’m devastated since I lost one mitt of my first pair 😦 I was so in love with them…

  7. Thanks for your comments on Citron!

    The John/Phil/Max (and Marc Warren too for good measure) is called Mad Dogs, set in Spain or similar I think – they go to a friend’s villa but things go rather wrong … it sounds good!

Leave a Reply

