Book review: The Monday Night Cooking School

The Monday Night Cooking School The Monday Night Cooking School by Erica Bauermeister

My rating: 2 of 5 stars
I can’t give this book 3 stars because I can’t say I liked it. I didn’t dislike it, so I’ve given it 2 stars for “it was ok”. This book comes under the category of chicklit, a category I am not fond of.

As the title suggests, the book centres around a cookery class, held at a restaurant on a Monday night each week when it is closed. There are 8 students, all with various reasons for attending the class. The usual suspects are here – a young mother whose life revolves around her children, a grieving widower, a married couple with an affair in their past, typical chicklit characters.

The teacher has her own story for why she started cooking, and also seems to have an uncanny knack of knowing what recipe she needs to cook each week to “help” one of the class members get over the troubles in their lives.

It all seemed a bit stereotyped and contrived to me. Everyone gets to know intimate details about each other and there is a syrupy happy ending.

However, if you are a chicklit fan, then I think this is a book you would enjoy. I liked the way it was written with a chapter about each person and their story.

View all my reviews >>

4 thoughts on “Book review: The Monday Night Cooking School

  1. I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy it. 😦

    I hate to say it but, it sounds like it would be right up my alley. 🙂

    It’s funny, too. If you inserted “knitting group” for “cookery school”, you would have “The Friday Night Knitting Club”. 😉 While it was an OK book, to me, it was a bit contrived.

  2. Our librarian recommended “The Friday Night Knitting Club”. She LOVED the book. I didn’t. In your A-Z challenge are you reading all of the books in the series by the author or just one? How are you picking the books? Just curious. It sounds like fun.

Leave a Reply

