FO: One Row Lace Scarf

At last knit group, Karen was making a simple lace scarf. I only lookd at it briefly but from her Ravelry page I got the pattern. It was literally a One Row scarf. Every row is the same and yet it produces a lovely lacy effect.  By using a sock weight yarn and large needles it is a stretchy scarf and so you only need 24 stitches per row, and can get a decent length scarf from one 175m ball of yarn.

I used the second ball of Drops Delight which as you can see does have the yellow and orange in it missing from the other ball.

Pattern: One Row Lace Scarf by Turvid

Yarn: Drops Delight from garnstudio

Needles: 5.5mm

Mods: none.  Knitted until the yarn ran out, ie 175m.

In my misguided wisdom I decided that this one was going so well that I would also make another one in the cobweb lace that I was going to use for the Cold Mountain stole.  I cast on 100 stitches on 3.5mm needles and was going along quite well for about 4in when I dropped a stitch in the open lacy bit! Down it went and I had no idea how to recover it so into the frogpond that one went.  I have now definitely decided that cobweb lace yarn and I do not get on and I shall never use it again!!

Also on the needles: a pair of plain socks using Lana Grossa Soja sock yarn.  This has 20% soya in it and is lovely and soft to work with.

One thought on “FO: One Row Lace Scarf

Leave a Reply

