Could it be true…….?

…….that I hold here in my mortal hand……….a nugget of purest Green???

I’ll let you judge.  Yesterday I used my new proper CP soap colouring that I got from Gracefruit.  I decided to use the green one (I got green, blue, red, yellow and black) as I have been trying to recreate Lord Percy’s “nugget of purest green” to no avail in previous attempts.  I also wanted to see if I could do graduating layers of colour.

I slightly changed my recipe too, to add safflower oil in place of sunflower oil.  The mixture seemed to thicken quite quickly so I had to work fast.  I added a couple of drops of colour to the mix and poured some into the mould, then added a bit more, poured some more etc 4 times.  Here it is in the mould…..

……quite a nice green.  This is 2 hours later after it had gelled……..

…definitely green.

This morning I have cut it…………

The distinct layers aren’t completely obvious here but in real life you can see them.  So I’m counting this as a success!!  Maybe not “purest green” but as near as I’ve got so far.  BTW the fragrance is geranium, rosemary and bergamot.

I’ve had a request for a honeysuckle soap so I think I’ll use the yellow on that one.

2 thoughts on “Could it be true…….?

  1. Hello Donnac, I came here via the Sunday Roast.
    You’ve a lovely blog here, I’m an aromatherapist, so very interested in your soaps.
    Also, really loved your “rant” about the hands-free soap dispenser- well said, the world is obsessed with germs, it’s ridiculous. And don’t get me started on that swine flu stuff! It turned out to be a storm in a teacup!

Leave a Reply

