Sparrowhawk

Phew, bit of excitement just now.  I saw a big bird flapping about in the rain in next door’s shrub and ran to get the camera.  Caught it on their patio in the rain, struggling a bit.  It looked injured.

My first thought was Sparrowhawk, then I looked at my ancient bird book and thought Buzzard but after googling some images I think I was right the first time.  The tail is very distinctive.

Anyway, I think it just got a bit waterlogged in a sudden downpour because a bit later it flew away.

Or it might have just been enjoying the shower like the pigeon I watched a couple of weeks ago

Leave a Reply

