Book review: What Was Lost

What Was LostWhat Was Lost by Catherine O’Flynn

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I was reading Tickling the English by Dara Ó Briain for the “O” in my A-Z Author challenge but it wasn’t grabbing me. Luckily my husband was quick off the mark and gave me this book for Christmas which I started on straight away.
This is the debut novel by Catherine O’Flynn and I noticed today that she has another book out which I am eager to read after getting through this one in a matter of 3 days. I’d not heard of the book or author, so it has been a successful chance encounter.
The story is split between two periods of time. The first part of the book introduces us to Kate Meany, a ten year old girl in 1984 who wants to be a detective and takes to watching people in the newly built shopping centre near her house, making up stories as to what crimes they may have committed and how she will find the evidence to bring them to justice. But one day Kate disappears and is never seen again.
Jumping forward to 2003 we meet a woman who works in a record store in the shopping centre, who’s brother was a suspect in Kate’s disappearance all those years ago, and also a security guard who believes he has seen a little girl on the security cameras in the shopping centre in the middle of the night. When the two meet, memories and secrets from the 1980’s come to the surface and are revealed to bring the story to a conclusion.
The book kept me wondering right to the end, and certainly drew me in quickly and kept my interest. I would give it 4.5 stars if that was possible.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Book review: What Was Lost

Leave a Reply

