Book review: The Fry Chronicles

The Fry ChroniclesThe Fry Chronicles by Stephen Fry

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I listened to the 12 hour unabridged audio CDs read by the man himself  and just flew through them. It is SO easy to listen to and I only dropped off once (I tend to drop off to sleep while watching QI, but this has proved it is not Mr Fry’s fault that this happens!).
This book covers the time between Stephen Fry’s finishing school and starting at Cambridge University up to about 1985 and the second series of Blackadder, when he started to become “famous”. I’d have liked it to go on further but as he says at the end “that is for another book”. Hurry up and write it Stephen!
It was interesting to hear how he managed to get through his degree without actually doing much work at all, missing out on a first by the skin of his teeth, but spending most of his time in the extracurricular activities of drama, and Footlights. Famous names keep popping up such as Emma Thompson, Rowan Atkinson and Hugh Laurie of course, and we hear how they met and started working together.
I didn’t realise that Mr Fry was responsible for re-writing Me & My Girl, the West End musical and making it such a success before he was well known.
I haven’t read Moab is My Wash-pot, his autobiography of his childhood so I shall have to go back and check that out.
Knowing Stephen Fry as the “national treasure” he is these days, you would be surprised at some of the things you don’t know about him. But I won’t spoil it.
I found this really good to listen to while knitting and walking the dog. I wouldn’t normally listen to my iPod for music, but this certainly got the headphones out of the mothballs!

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Book review: The Fry Chronicles

  1. I love ‘Moab is my Washpot’, one of my favourite books. I think you’ll enjoy it very much. I’ve got ‘The Fry Chronicles’ but got stuck about halfway through – not SF’s fault, mine alone! I must finish it.

  2. The funny thing is the sound of Stephen Fry reading puts my daughter to sleep, not because she finds him boring, she just likes the sound of his voice. I also read this recently but I much prefer that first volumn of autobiography Moab is My Washpot, that truly is a great book. Enjoyed reading your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

