Book review: Soups for All Seasons by New Covent Garden Food Co.

New Covent Garden Food Co. Soup for All Seasons : Or Favourite Seasonal RecipesNew Covent Garden Food Co. Soup for All Seasons : Or Favourite Seasonal Recipes by New Covent Garden Soup Company

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Found in a charity shop for £1.00!! (RRP £14.99 – I couldn’t leave it there could I?)

I didn’t read this book word for word – it’s a recipe book – but I did go through every page and look at the soups and ingredient lists and now I am chomping at the bit to make soup!! It isn’t actually that difficult. I have an old vegetable soup recipe of my mother-in-law’s which always goes down well when I make it but there are many delicious and varied recipes in this book.

The book is divided into seasons, starting with autumn and the recipes use seasonal produce available at that time of year (in the UK). It also shows you how to make your own chicken, beef, fish, and vegetable stock but you can use cubes or ready made if you want to. I’m not sure I want to be spending 8 hours roasting and boiling beef bones to be honest.

The only downside to the book is that there are no photographs, but I suppose a bowl of soup looks like a bowl of soup, right?

And, if you don’t want to bother making the soups yourself, you can go and buy them in the supermarket ready made!!

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Book review: Soups for All Seasons by New Covent Garden Food Co.

  1. I have been struggling to find a book with some good soup recipes. I have bought a couple but they all seem to contain really obscure ingredients (like eye of newt). Maybe I should look out for this one.

Leave a Reply

