Book review: Toast by Nigel Slater

ToastToast by Nigel Slater

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I watched the TV adaptation of Toast over Christmas, but I have to say this book was much better. The TV version took a bit of artistic license, leaving out characters and situations and failing to convey the real passion Nigel Slater has for food.

Each chapter is a reminiscence of a certain food that he remembers from his childhood and he interweaves it into what was happening in his life at that time. These are sometimes only a page long, so it is easy to zip through this book. The foods range from favourite sweets such as Refreshers and Walnut Whips, to lemon meringue pie and pickled walnuts!

At the same time I was reading this, I was listening to Moab Is My Washpot by Stephen Fry, and because they are round about the same age, there was overlap in the places where Fry talks about the same foods he also liked as a boy.

I hope there is a follow up to Toast as I’d be interested to find out what happens in between Slater’s getting a job at the Savoy in his early 20s to where he is now.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Book review: Toast by Nigel Slater

Leave a Reply

