FO: Dot the monster Monster

HAPPY BIRTHDAY  to my mum for today!!!

My Big Book of Knitted Monsters arrived last week and I couldn’t wait to get started on one of the patterns.  As I needed a birthday gift for someone for this Thursday, I decided to make a monster in her favourite colours so I checked with her mum and popped into Abakhan on Saturday for something in “aqua”.  The only suitable yarn was a super chunky but as you knit at a tight gauge so that the stuffing doesn’t show through I thought it would be fine.  I got a lovely dark red for a contrast colour and decided to make Dot (click third last picture under main picture).   Although the yarn said to use 10mm needles I finally settled on 5.5mm ones which has turned out a really nice tight fabric.

And Dot herself has turned out to be a monster Monster!!  Look at the size of her against our Labrador, and she is a chunky labrador too!!

I really hadn’t realised she would be so big but actually I’m happy because the recipient can use her as a cushion for her bedroom or something.

Pattern: Dot from the Big Book of Knitted Monsters

Yarn: Sirdar Big Softie, 4 balls aqua, 1 ball red

Needles: 5.5mm

Mods: I ran out of aqua so I finished off the arms with the red, but I’m chuffed with it because it gives her separate coordinating “hands”.  I did a quirky crooked mouth on purpose!

One thought on “FO: Dot the monster Monster

  1. Awww what a cutie! (both of them)

    I got my copy yesterday. I think I’m going to make a computer monster first.

    I like the idea of using really chunky wool for a monster monster.

Leave a Reply

