Book review: Dr Bernstein’s Diabetes Solution

Dr. Bernstein's Diabetes Solution: The Complete Guide to Achieving Normal Blood SugarsDr. Bernstein’s Diabetes Solution: The Complete Guide to Achieving Normal Blood Sugars by Richard K. Bernstein

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Some of this book makes complete sense: carbohydrate raises blood sugar so eating less of it will raise blood sugars to a lesser extent. Other parts are just totally impractical: eat a total of 30g of carb a day, but basically only from a very limited number of vegetables – no fruit, grain products, milk, etc. Just protein, fat and a few vegetables. I have no idea how anyone could stick to this diet and lead a normal active life. In fact I think it is more restrictive than the diet I was recommended on being diagnosed with Type 1 (insulin dependent) diabetes 24 years ago.
I do however understand the science behind the Bernstein method and can see the benefits to blood sugar control if you follow it religiously, but I do wonder at the lack of variety and the need to take supplements to cover what you are not getting from fruit and “banned” vegetables and other things like calcium from milk. I shall be cutting down on my carbohydrate intake but nowhere near to the extent of Dr Bernstein’s suggestions. It is simply unworkable!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

