Book review: The Good Women of China

The Good Women of ChinaThe Good Women of China by Xinran

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I would never have read this book if I hadn’t needed an “X” for my A-Z author challenge. It was certainly an eye-opener!
These are true stories from Chinese women about their lives, collected by a journalist and radio presenter. She was also surprised by the stories she was told. Some of the stories of abuse are unbelievable and it is hard to imagine, living in Western society, that these things are going on in modern times. It is pure luck who you are and where you were born but I am so grateful to be living in an open and free thinking society.
I had no concept of China at all, and certainly learned a few things about the culture. I may look a bit further into it, but then again I’m not sure I want to either, as I would probably get quite angry about it all.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

