Book Review: Completely Unexpected Tales

Completely Unexpected TalesCompletely Unexpected Tales by Roald Dahl

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I got this from the library after listening to Alan Carr’s BBC Radio 2 show with Melanie Sykes where they were talking about the TV series from the ’70s and ’80s. I remember being quite scared watching it and have an enduring memory of “the man in the yellow mac”.

Unfortunately the book was disappointing, and none of the stories I read (admittedly only 5!) were scary or unexpected. I guess it is dated and we have all become desensitised to what should be frightening.

What a shame.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

