Book (& Kindle) review: Sanctus

SanctusSanctus by Simon Toyne

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This is the first book I have read on the Kindle which I received for Christmas. So this is part review of the book, part review of the Kindle.

The book is very much in the vein of The Da Vinci Code with a mysterious religious sect, an unknown artifact, an alternative organisation seeking the truth etc etc. But it is fast-moving and has a good story. None of the places or organisations in the book are real but it is written in a way that you could imagine that they are. The descriptions of the Citadel bring it to life. There is a conclusion to this book but there is also a sequel due out in 2012 so the ending is open to this.

As for the Kindle – I didn’t think I wanted one, because I love books so much. I can’t pass a book shop, new or secondhand/charity shop without either going in or yearning to if I don’t have time! I have full bookshelves at home of read books and I also have about 100 books on my chest of drawers yet to be read. I love starting a new book, but am just as happy to read a secondhand book. But…….I was deliberating over a Kindle because I like technology, and it was one of those gadgets that I wanted to have just to have one. But I didn’t really. Do you know what I mean? Anyway the decision was taken out of my hands when my husband surprised me on Christmas day.
Pros – I like it. It is easy to use, and the facility for changing the font size is great because I am now finding that some paperbacks do have very small print. I used about 50% of the battery life on this book, turning it off completely overnight despite it having a sleep mode which kicks in after 15 minutes of inactivity and uses no power. That was just under a week so a full charge should last almost two weeks at the rate I was reading. It is small, lightweight and easy to pop in a handbag.
Cons – far too easy to buy books on! I also got a gift voucher for £20 and as the books I have bought so far have been £1.99 or 99p I have already bought 4 books despite the unread pile beside the bed! The display is not backlit so you do need a light source in the same conditions as you would a normal book. There are cases available with integral lights but I already had a book light which works just as well, but I did buy a cover (without a light) just for protection if I am taking the Kindle out and about in my bag. Finally it just isn’t a book – pressing a button to scroll back isn’t the same as flicking back through the pages. There is no colourful glossy cover. And although it has a % indicating how far through the book you are it just isn’t the same as looking at where your bookmark is in a book and seeing that you only have so many pages to go.

Having said that I am already agonising over whether to buy Kindle editions of some of my unread books (seems a bit silly to buy them again though) and I can see that it will get used a lot.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

