Book review: Legacy: Daughters of Darkness

Legacy (The Daughters Of Darkness #1)Legacy by Ravin Tija Maurice

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This is just the sort of book I like. Vampires, werewolves, shapeshifters, but not blood and gore.

I was recommended this by my husband’s cousin who knows the author. I thought “ok I’ll give it a go, be polite”, but actually I thoroughly enjoyed it and am looking forward to the next one in the series.

The main character, Katrine, discovers she is an illegitimate granddaughter to Countess Erzebet Bathory (a real person from the 1600s) but after an unfortunate incident with some witches is left injured and thirsting for blood. She is found by a group of other vampires and taken to Paris to live and perform in the Danse Macabre. The spectre of her mother is present as she becomes accustomed to who and what she is.

At times I wasn’t really sure where the story was going, but it turns out really to be the the introduction to the cast of characters, as this is the first in a series. I didn’t study history so can’t say if it is historically accurate but I was drawn in by the descriptions nevertheless. Some interesting characters and relationships.

There was a strange jump in the story, with a “Two Years Later”…. heading and no explanation of what happened during that time. There were certain parts of the story before which certainly would have had things happen in the intervening period.

But apart from that I look forward to book 2.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

