Monica Mitts pattern

Over the last couple of weeks I have been working on a few patterns.  The owner of my local LYS asked me to design a couple of small things using two new yarns which aren’t even available yet!!  The first yarn was lovely but the second one I really struggled with as it was thick’n’thin and also quite fluffy in places.  As it was a dark colour it didn’t show any stitch patterns up so I had to go with something plain with a little frilly flourish.  I’m not sure if I am allowed to show them yet so I’ll check for the next post……

But one I can show is a pair of stranded colourwork mitts.  They are lovely and snug and are available on Ravelry by clicking here or on Craftsy.com by clicking on the photo below.

There is a chart to follow for the colourwork, but it is up to you how you have the colours.  I did them opposite to see the difference having the dark or light background.  I used Jamieson & Smith Shetland 2 ply jumper weight which is available in loads of colours, on 2.5mm magic loop.  It is not the softest yarn in the world but does soften up when soaked.  It is pure wool so hand wash carefully!  And you only need one 25g ball of each colour for a pair.

If you do make a pair please link to your finished project on Ravelry as I’d love to see the colours you choose.

One thought on “Monica Mitts pattern

Leave a Reply

