Book review: Nightrise by Anthony Horowitz

Nightrise (The Power of Five, #3)Nightrise by Anthony Horowitz

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This is the third book in the Power of Five series. I read the other two a while ago so had forgotten a fair bit, so this was almost a new story for me.
Written for teens this is about five kids who all have to come together to save the world from the return of The Old Ones. Two of them have found each other in the previous two books and this one is about the 3rd and 4th.
It is a good story although there is a strange jump in the middle where one of the characters wakes up in a completely different world, and it took me a while to get that this was relevant to the story. There is also a little bit of repetition, where the author states something that he has already said before, as if he thinks the reader may have forgotten it, even though it was emphasized the first time.
I liked the part of the story that was set in modern times, it had good pacing and characters.
I think I will read the other two books in the series at some point as I kind of want to know what happens!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

