Fear of failure!

At the moment I have 5 active WIPs on the needles.  A pair of simple socks, a top down cardigan, a jumper, and a pair of Fair Isle mitts and another possible jumper that I am designing myself.  I want to knit on all of them but something is holding me back.

The simple socks are simple and I can plough on with those and get them finished today if I put my mind to it. But I want to put them down and work on one of the other projects.  I probably won’t though because of one thing – I don’t want to make a mistake.

I’m afraid I am the type of person who likes to be able to do something well straight away, even if I’ve not done it before.  If I can’t do something pretty quickly I give up on it.  Luckily I was pretty good at knitting straight away and that’s why I’ve stuck with it for so long.  But sometimes the thought of making a mistake and having to rip back and re-do stops me in my tracks.

The top down cardigan is going to need stitches picked up around the edge for the button bands.  Picking up stitches is not my forte, so I’m avoiding it even though the rest of the cardigan is not even half finished yet.

The jumper has strange decreases on the sleeve shaping and is looking a bit odd, so I’m avoiding that.

The mitts have a Fair Isle pattern knit in the round and I don’t want a “jog” where the pattern matches up, but can’t find a good enough method to prevent it, so I’m avoiding those.

And the jumper I am designing presently consists of a sleeve cuff.  I want it to be a yoked sweater with some cabling but have never done a yoked sweater before and am feeling intimidated by the thought of it, so the jumper has been just a cuff for a couple of months now!

I know that if I just pick up one of these projects and start working on it, all will be fine and I’ll figure out the problem and finally have a finished garment – it’s just the thought of it that is holding me back.

Perhaps if I just finish the socks then that will be out of the way and I can concentrate on these other projects?

 

Leave a Reply

