Book review: Rivers of London

Rivers of London (Peter Grant, #1)Rivers of London by Ben Aaronovitch

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A friend of mine recommended this book to me over two years ago, and I wish I’d gotten round to reading it sooner. I don’t know what I thought it was about when I put it on my wishlist all that time ago but I wasn’t expecting what I got!

Sort of similar to Jim Butcher‘s Dresden Files its main character is Peter Grant who is a London bobby coming to the end of his two year probation period and wondering which department of the Met he will end up working in. Arriving at a crime scene he bumps into a ghost and next thing he knows he has been seconded to be become apprentice to the force’s only wizard.

He needs to learn quickly in order to solve the case of several grisly murders in the city, which are being perpetrated by some kind of vengeful spirit. In the meantime he also has to placate the potential war brewing between the two river gods of the Thames.

There were some quite diverse characters in the book and I’m looking forward to finding out more about them in the subsequent two books. I think there is a lot more to know about Nightingale, Grant’s new guv’nor.

Although it is about a wizard it is definitely not Harry Potter for adults. Yes there are some spells but there are no magic wands or capes or games of Quidditch. This is firmly set in the real world of London, and its unknown goings-on!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

