FO: Paulie, Notre Dame & Irish Mesh Cowl

Whew, the weather is scorching here, but despite that fact Saturday morning found me in the garden sweating in two knitted jumpers while Colin took photos.  After much “hurry up I’m melting!!” from me we got some decent pictures, the first one is my favourite of Paulie.

DSCN1800

DSCN1804

Really pleased with this one, although it may need a little tug during blocking so it isn’t quite so snug around the waist.

Pattern: Paulie by Isabell Kraemer

Yarn:  Rowan Cashsoft 4ply, 7.6 balls in dark grey, 1.2 balls in pale grey.

Needles:  3mm

Modifications:  I lengthened the sleeves as they are originally three quarter length.

I had bought the darker colour over a year ago in the bargain bin because the colour was discontinued.  So of course, I ran out of yarn on the button band!  I couldn’t get the same dye lot but two kind ladies on Ravelry sent me another dyelot and you can’t see any difference at all which is a relief!

I learned a new technique whilst making this cardigan – i-cord bind off.

IMG_1094

Although it takes absolutely forever, it was well worth the time and effort as it really finishes it off well.  In fact I took a great deal of care with the finishing of this garment, making sure all the picked up stitches were correct and neat and I feel like this project is probably the best thing I have knitted so far.  And the yarn is lovely and soft.

The second garment I finished – seaming it during Andy Murray’s Wimbledon semi-final – is Notre Dame de Grace.

DSCN1794

DSCN1797

The pooling of the colour is a bit funky but I actually like it.  No one else in the world will have the same jumper as me, that’s for sure!!  The pattern instructions were a bit off in places – it tells you to keep the back neck stitches on a holder, then never mentions them again, so I ended up binding them off before attaching the collar.

Pattern: Notre Dame de Grace from Interweave Knits Summer 2007

Yarn:  Araucania Lauca which is 10% silk, 10% camel, 80% wool.  5.8 skeins.

Needles: 5.5mm

Modifications: Had to go up two needle sizes from those stated (4.5mm) to get gauge, and had to wing the bits in the pattern which were unclear.

But again, I really like the finished jumper and I can see me getting a lot of wear from both of these in the autumn and winter.

And finally, one of my lovely knit group friends, Jane, had a birthday last week, so I made another Irish Mesh Cowl in Araucania Ranco.  I think she was happy with it……

IMG_1105

3 thoughts on “FO: Paulie, Notre Dame & Irish Mesh Cowl

Leave a Reply

