FO: Hugo and other knitterly things

I have decided to make an effort to improve the photography of my knitting.  Usually when I buy new yarn I am so excited to take a photo and get it up on my stash on Ravelry that I just photograph it in any old space on the table or on top of my laptop.  This does not make for the best of pictures.

I have been meaning to look at Eskimimi’s photography tutorials for a while but, as is the case with these things, it got put to the back burner.  However last week I finally got round to it and they are surprisingly simple but very effective.  I think you’ll see an improvement in the photos in this post, not perfect, but getting there.

My first FO is a little bag I made for The Skein After Skein podcast EPICKALCAL.  It is a pattern from Drops, 129-7, knitted in Rowan Panama.  The yarn inside is Cascade 220 4ply.

DSCN1906

 

Next is Hugo by Veronik Avery from the Brooklyn Tweed book BTMen.  Knitted with Drops Lima.  Obviously I couldn’t get Colin to lie on a piece of white paper so this is an outside photo.

DSCN1898

 

It took me a while to knit this but I really like the finished jumper.

I’ve just started a Grace cardigan, and I am going to admit that I have put aside my yarn snobbery for this project.  I wanted a quick cardigan in a chunky yarn but didn’t want to pay over the odds so when I discovered this Stylecraft Inspiration Brushed Chunky on Kemps for 99p/100g I thought I would order it and if it was really yucky I could just donate it to a charity shop and only be down £6.  I have been pleasantly surprised.  It doesn’t squeak, is surprisingly soft and has a slight halo due to the 10% mohair.  I haven’t got very far yet but I am quite enjoying it.  The colour is also a departure from the norm for me.

DSCN1911

 

And finally here is a photo of the Skein Queen yarn I bought at Yarndale, just because I like it!!

 

DSCN1892

 

I hope you like the new look photos, and if you want to pass on any hints and tips, please leave me a comment.

2 thoughts on “FO: Hugo and other knitterly things

Leave a Reply

