SMC Silk Wool

In the comments on the last post I was asked about the joins on the HiyaHiyas. I am going to take a photo of all the joins on the needles but unfortunately it is too dull today to get a good pic. So in the meantime I will talk about SMC Wool Silk.

I went to my LYS last week for an aran weight yarn for a Star Crossed Slouchy Beret for a Christmas gift. I had always sort of avoided SMC yarns thinking they were more at the cheaper end of the market and therefore acrylic ( I’m such a yarn snob!). However, the shop owner, Helen, pointed me to the silk wool, which funnily enough is just made up of silk and wool and a little polyamid (27, 64 and 9% respectively). I was pleasantly surprised at the softness of the yarn and as the project is knitted on 6mm needles it was perfect, especially as you get a whopping 120m from 50g.  As the recipient is a redhead I chose this dark green colour.

DSC_0281_medium2

I haven’t knitted with it yet, but I really think it is going to work and I am already anticipating going back for a lovely blue for the giftee’s blonde sister.

Leave a Reply

