Exciting news and I’m having a competition!

(***Competition now closed***)

A couple of weeks ago I hinted that something exciting was going to happen on February 6th.  So here we are, and here it is…

The latest issue of Knit Now magazine.

DSCN1958

This issue actually came out early as I managed to pick up a copy in Purl City Yarns on Saturday.  I was super excited because it contains my first published pattern!!!  See that mitten on the cover?  Well here it is inside……

DSCN1959

And that’s me down in the bottom left hand corner!

I sent the pattern and sample back in September, it’s been a long wait but it’s finally out.  They are a little pair of mitts with cables on the back of the hand, knit in Woolyknits 4ply yarn with 2.5mm needles.  The colour in the magazine looks blue-grey but the colour is duck egg blue as in the photo below.  They sent me two 50g balls but you can get both mitts from one ball which makes them less than a fiver to make.  Here is a photo that I took before sending them in, modelled by one of my lovely friends

IMG_1223

But…….. if you leave me a comment you are in with a chance of winning the ball of yarn and needles in the pic*….

DSCN1960

The needles are a set of 2.5mm DPNs from HiyaHiya, my current favourite needle brand.  They are the pointiest needles I’ve used, but as I prefer using magic loop I’ve decided to give them away to a lucky winner.

All you have to do is leave me a comment, tell me your favourite item you like to knit, and if you want to elaborate tell me why.  I’ll put the names in a hat and draw a winner in a couple of weeks time**.  Don’t forget to leave me a way to contact you if you are the winner.  That could be a Ravelry name, email address or a link to your blog.  Your chances of winning are pretty high as I don’t get a huge amount of comments so give it a go.  Don’t be shy, you never know!!

* As some of the readers may be overseas from the UK, (and I’m happy to send worldwide), I am also including a copy of the magazine so you have the pattern too.

**It has been suggested that I put a closing date, so it will be 23.59pm GMT, Sunday 16th February.  I have no clue on time zones sorry!