Baarmygirls go “live”!!!

Over the past few days I have learned quite a bit of technical stuff.  Not completely intentionally but in order to achieve something I wanted to do, I have had to learn a few steps in between.  This applied to knitting too.  If you want a nice cabled jumper but have never cabled before, you have to learn how to do that first.

My end point was to start a podcast.  I had no idea how to do it, so I had to learn.  I thought you could just record something and it would miraculously appear on iTunes!!  Well maybe my thinking wasn’t THAT simplistic, I knew there was more to it, but I’ve now got more tech savvie-ness (I’ve probably just made up that word!) than I had before.

Anyway, I have wanted to make a podcast for a few years.  I listen to Hoxton Handmade’s Electric Sheep and various others and was dying to have a go myself.  But I didn’t want to do it on my own.  Sitting in a room talking to myself didn’t really appeal.  One day at knit group I mentioned this and no-one was interested really.  Until the lovely Jane spoke up and said “go on, I’ll give it a go.”

About three weeks ago we tried our first attempt, but giggled and messed about so much that after three hours we’d got nowhere!  A bit of recording of us chatting randomly with her husband about TV shows resulted.  Then last week we organised ourselves with a loose script of topics and we got on with it.  I then had to learn how to edit it.  I got it into GarageBand, that was a start.  Then figured out how to cut bits out and rearrange stuff.

You need somewhere to host a podcast so I chose BuzzSprout which is easy to use and has a free option while you get started. I hit another snag when the file wouldn’t upload but then discovered I had to convert the GarageBand file to an mp3 file, something else I have learned in the process.

But to cut a long story short, we now have a podcast episode, whoohoo!!  You can have a listen if you want……….

www.baarmygirls.blogspot.co.uk

The sound isn’t great, it’s a learning curve, but please have a listen and leave a comment there, or on Twitter @baarmygirls or email us on baarmygirls@gmail.com

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

