Dyeing to meet you…..

I am really enjoying the dyeing.  I only do it on a Friday as I have a whole day to myself, however I had been a bit scuppered by the fact that a stockpot I ordered two weeks ago still hadn’t arrived!  It has now arrived but is at Colin’s office.

So today I just decided to do one skein, which is now drying outside.  In the meantime here are last week’s results……..

DSCN2410

l-r: Logwood, madder, ivy leaves

The logwood started out as a purple grey but I dunked it in some bicarb and it changed to navy.  I love chemistry!!  My favourite has to be the madder.  I’d really like to dye enough to make Sirdar 7187.  We have a sample garment in the shop and I wore it the other day when I was a bit chilly.  It is supposed to be made in Sirdar Wool Rich Aran but I think the Debbie Bliss Rialto DK would be okay as the Sirdar is quite a thin aran.  The ivy leaves were a little disappointing but apparently I need to leave it in a lot longer to get a decent colour (I was too impatient!).

I am actually using the Wool Rich Aran for a baby jumper for my friend.  I’m using this colour…….DSCN2407

as apparently his eyes are changing to a green brown now.  I have nearly finished it, just a few edgings and some seaming to do and then I am going to cast on the Rivulet shawl by Tin Can Knits from the book Road Trip.  I’ll be using this……….

DSCN2409

which is oooooooooohhhhhhhhh soooooo soft!!!  Mirasol Sulka Legato.

Tomorrow I will be interviewing Jeni from Fyberspates for the Baarmygirls podcast.  She is launching her new yarn, Cumulus, at Stash Fine Yarns from 11-4.  Andy from Chester Wool will be there too with his undyed yarns – eek!. Hopefully Jane will be there to record with me.  So if you are in the area, come along.  It’s quite informal so you can come any time you like.  Maybe see you there.

Leave a Reply

