Pain – it’s not big or clever!

It is in fact EXCRUCIATING!!!!  A few years ago I had an ear infection and it was, at the time, the worst pain I have ever had in my entire life.  That was NOTHING compared to the last few days.  I did a very innocuous thing of putting a friend’s baby on my hip 10 days ago.  I must have stuck my hip out and twisted at the same time, but thought nothing of it.  Over the next couple of days I started to get pain in the hip and shooting down the back of my leg.  I saw the GP and got some painkillers, carried on as the pain got worse.  Early Friday morning we had to call the on call GP as I was screaming and crying in pain at 3am.  They didn’t come out but told me to take more painkillers and ring my GP in the morning.  I did that but by mid afternoon I started to be sick so had to get to the GP quick who then sent me to hospital because I couldn’t even keep water (let alone painkillers down).

The diagnosis is sciatica, and there is no time frame of how long it is going to last.  I can walk about, in fact that keeps it moving and loose, but as soon as I stop and sit down, or god forbid go to bed, the pain just builds, and it is the most excruciating pain to get up again.  I spent Friday night in hospital getting IV fluids and painkillers and was sent home Saturday afternoon after proving I could keep food down.

So I am currently spending all day standing up!!  Not the easiest thing when the pills are making me drowsy and I want to sleep.  I have done a little bit of walking-knitting!

On Thursday I had started the process of dyeing some yarn.  It finally got completed yesterday after sitting in the dyepot for two days while I was incapacitated in the Countess of Chester.  It was originally Debbie Bliss undyed Rialto DK and I dyed it with madder chips.  I would have liked it darker, but am still really pleased with the variegated result.  I love the fact that with natural dyes you really don’t quite know what you are going to get.

DSCN2423 DSCN2424

There are 6 x 100g skeins there, all from the same dyepot but all slightly different, so 1200 metres total.  I originally wanted to make Sirdar 7187 with it but I might reconsider and make a Lush cardigan instead.  I think I need to swatch a bit first.

When I am feeling better I am going to start taking Pilates classes to strengthen my back and core muscles.

Take care of your back everyone, cos when it goes wrong you really know about it!!!

 

3 thoughts on “Pain – it’s not big or clever!

  1. So sorry you’ve been in so much painDonna as you said can’t believe it started from holding William pain is utterly excruciating exhausting and depressing I know it well in fact been bad with my fibromyalgia today anti inflammatory and painkillers today. I think the wool should be used for a post pain jumper when you’re better and Pilates a very good idea my mums encouraging me to strengthen back because William is getting bigger and heavier take care love nina x

Leave a Reply

