Annoyed………

………… at this flipping pain!!  And it is getting in the way of my crafting!!!

I am taking about 15 minutes to get out of bed and hobble around until the pain has gone down enough to get dressed. Mornings are the worst time because the painkillers have worn off over night, and I have been inactive for at least 8 hours.  Once I am up and about though it is fine as long as I stay up and about.  If I sit for any length of time I stiffen up again.  I have managed to get back to work which has been ok because I am on my feet and nothing is too heavy to lift in a yarn shop!

But I had plans for making things for gifts on my days off.  Knitting and sewing gifts.  But I can’t sit down to do them, it’s very frustrating.  I could have had several things made by now, but so far have managed about 20% of a knitted gift for a friend who’s birthday was 2 days ago.  I did devise a way of knitting and walking, by hanging a project bag off my arm with my yarn in, but this current project uses 3 colours at once so it all gets a bit mixed up in the bag.  Sigh….

I do have a finished project to show though.  I managed to finish my Rivulet shawl and get it blocked.  I love it, it is really soft and warm in the Mirasol Sulka Legato and the fringing is fab.

Rivulet shawlKnitted on 3.75mm circs, it is very lightweight so doesn’t feel all bunched up around the neck.  You start knitting at the point and increase to 261 stitches by the end so it isn’t too many (not that you think that while the rows are getting longer and longer!), and the pattern is very easy to memorise.

Pattern: Rivulet from Road Trip by TinCanKnits

Yarn: Mirasol Sulka Legato shade 13 – approx 80g

Needles: 3.75mm 80cm KnitPro Harmony interchangeable circulars

 

One thought on “Annoyed………

  1. so glad you are able to manage the pain, and figure out ways to do a bit of what gives you pleasure. I can’t even imagine having it hurt if you stop moving. Yikes.

    As for the knitting three colors tangling – would three small project bags work, one for each color? It might be easier to keep the yarn straight.

    And cut yourself some slack, I think people will understand why their gifts are late this year.

    (I can relate – I once gave someone the body of a sweater, one sleeve and a ball of yarn. The look on her face was priceless.)

Leave a Reply

