Sadness and creativity

Oh dear, nearly three months since my last post!!  I hope you are all still out there…….

It’s been eventful.  Firstly I still have a bad back/hip/leg.  I put it like that because I really don’t know which bit it is that is causing the problem.  I am still waiting for a physio appointment on the NHS(!).  I am so thankful to the NHS for so many things but really, 4 months until I see a physio for something that really should be gone by then.  I was originally told it was sciatica, and it would clear up in about 6 weeks. Humph!  I went to a private physio at first but no relief.  Then an osteopath, no relief, and am now seeing a chiropractor.  A bit of relief but only because I am still on the pain killers.  I tried to cut them down a bit recently but the pain worsened so I went back on them again.  It’s very frustrating, all from a simple action of holding a small child!!

Anyway, let’s get the rest of the doom and gloom out of the way.  My laptop died, but that was easily solved by buying a new one.  A lovely MacBook Air.

Then sadly we had to make the horrible decision to say goodbye to our beautiful girl, Susie, our golden labrador who we had from the rescue 6 years ago.  She just suddenly went off her food which is not like any labrador but especially not her – she used to inhale her food and it never touched the sides.  Following test it turned out she had metastasised tumours on her heart, spleen and the whole of her liver.  There was nothing they could do for her so we had to let her go.  It was only three weeks ago and we are still heartbroken.  I had a meltdown yesterday when I saw a dog the spitting image of her on the way home from work.  It just brought back so many memories.

IMG_1767

Well, moving on…………

I have become multicraftual!  Just before Christmas I decided to make Christmas cards.  However then the back went and I only managed to make a few for the closest friends and family.  I have been making since then though, but it does mean accumulating more stuff (more news on that later……).  I bought myself a Sizzix die cutting machine and have been playing about with that.  I’m not realising anywhere near it’s potential but I’m having a go.  Here are some of the cards I have made recently……

On the knitting front I haven’t really made much, my fingers are quite stiff at the moment and the middle finger of my left hand keeps clicking and getting stuck.  But I did make a little Tubby Tabby for my friend Mel for her birthday

IMG_2188I’m currently trying to get a pair of socks out of the way so I can move onto a larger project.  I’d really like to start one of the projects from Kate Davies’ book Yokes.  The Epistrophy, but I’m going to have to face my knitting nemesis to do that, the dreaded STEEKING!!!  Yikes! not Yokes!

I have offered my very limited sewing skills to a friend whose daughter will be going to a school prom in Jume.  She is happy for me to attempt to make a prom dress!!  (I have warned them to have a back up plan!)  So far I have made a mock up of the skirt portion using an old bed sheet and it seemed to fit ok.  I am using Burda Kids pattern 9499.  In the meantime I practised my skills on a cute bunny.  I’m really pleased with it and am going to make another in some more flowery fabric.

IMG_2237

I mentioned accumulating more “stuff”.  Well the decluttering went quite well but things are spilling out again, especially craft stuff, so Colin decided that he would move his office stuff out of the small 3rd bedroom and we’d make it into a craft room for me!!  Yay!!!  It’s currently in the being emptied stage so I can’t really get an idea of what it will be like but it’s going to be so nice to have everything in one place rather than in corners of the living room and kitchen extension.  I’ll get a large-ish sewing table so the machine can stay out and lots of storage for fabric, yarn and card making supplies.  I am a bit excited.  And hopefully there will be room under the table for a four legged friend if one should happen to come along!

 

3 thoughts on “Sadness and creativity

  1. So sorry to hear about Susie – she looks very sweet in the photo. And yoru pain – may it go away soon.

    However – good news on the crafting front – a place to leave the mess – keep the machine out – wonderful! And you will learn to love the Sizzix machine, I know. I have a Cuttlebug and a Cricut, and I love them for card making. Have fun exploring – I love your cards. 🙂

  2. I was so sorry to read your news about Susie. What a lovely dog.
    I hope that the physio appointment comes through soon, and that the pain goes too. Your Craft room sounds like it will be fun to organise and work in.

Leave a Reply

