A couple of sewn things

I joined a sewing class.  Well it’s not exactly a class.  You take along what you would like to work on and then if there are bits of the process you aren’t sure of or haven’t done you ask the teacher, Rachel, for help.  To be honest there hasn’t really been anything I couldn’t have done by myself but it is reassuring to have someone watch what you do and say that you are doing it right.  I only have one more week left so I want to get zips right and tackle a buttonhole.

At the moment I am working on a simple A-line skirt but over the last few weeks I have made some other things.  I made a Dottie Angel dress (Simplicity 1080), using this pattern.

IMG_3415IMG_3414

It is possibly a bit “Little House on the Prairie” but I like it.  At this time pf year I am wearing it as above, with jeans, boots and a long sleeved top, but in the summer I will wear it as a dress.  All the fabrics came from Abakhan and it cost me less than £20 to make.  I need to get some better photos though (where I don’t look so grumpy!!).

I also made some knitting project bags.  These have a square bottom, and I made 6 from 12 fat quarters.

They are going to be on sale at Yarn O’Clock.  I’m very excited to tell you that my friend Anne has opened a brand new yarn shop in Mold, Flintshire.  She has a Facebook page and blog so far and is carrying mostly British yarns.  I went over to help her fill shelves and also to help on her first day of opening.  This is the shop…

She has some Rowan, West Yorkshire Spinners, Jamieson & Smith, John Arbon, Fyberspates, Chester Wool Company, Patons, and KnitPro needles and hooks and other accessories.  She is hoping to get an online shop up too but at the moment is just getting the bricks and mortar shop up and running.  I’m sure she would take a telephone order though.  Please support her, I really want her to be successful.

 

Leave a Reply

